top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Poland

5 Young Adult Book Series to Read

Hello, all! Since blog topics similar to reading have been so well-received recently, I decided to write another blog post about some of my favorite Young Adult book series. I’ve always struggled with finding good YA books to read, but each of the series I recommend below I have read several times. If you’re looking for a new summer read, I highly encourage you to check some of these out!

#1. The Illuminae Files by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman.

The Illuminae Files are some of my absolute favorite sci-fi books. The hilarious characters, well-constructed world, and abstract writing style helped me fly through all three of the books within three days (and the books aren’t small by any means). I’ve read the physical versions of the books and listened to the audio version, and I laughed (and cried) all the way through it. If you’re searching for a fast-paced, gripping read with plenty of humor and a bit of romance, I highly recommend these books!

#2. The Ranger’s Apprentice Series by John Flanagan.

Flanagan constructs a medevial-esque world with plenty of adventure and cliff hangers within each book that won’t let you stop reading (even if you want to stop!). I’ve read this series at least three times, and the characters and their relationships throughout never fail to amaze me. These books are fantastic if you’re looking for a quick, entertaining read!

#3. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series by Ransom Riggs.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series is one of the best YA book series I’ve ever read (and my parents agree!). Riggs’ writing style is breathtaking, and I hope to be able to write even just a little bit like him one day. Each of the characters are so unique and likeable, AND the books have pictures throughout, which makes them even better!

#4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan.

I have read the Percy Jackson series at LEAST ten times throughout my life. If I’m in need of a pick-me-up-type read, I turn to Percy Jackson. The series have never failed to make me laugh out loud! I’ve read the physical version of the series nine or ten times, and listened to the audio book version of the series once (it made the pegasi voices come alive. If you know, you know). If you want to read books with an extremely sarcastic narrator, slow-burn romance (YES!!!), and Greek myths all in one, go check out this series!

#5. The Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner.

Bring me alllll the books my Amie Kaufman (and Jay Kristoff)! When I saw this series by Kaufman and Spooner, I knew I had to read it. The Starbound trilogy is a sci-fi/fantasy series a little heavier on the romance side. Complete mystery, strong female characters, and tons of action, this series is another one that I couldn’t put down. If you’d like a more in-depth review of these books, check out my IGTV video here!

So, there’s some of my favorite YA books! I confess I don’t read a ton of YA—are there any books you think I should add to my to-be-read list? Let me know in the comments below!

Much love,

Katie

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page